## Loudon County Redistricting Committee Meeting Minutes

## August 11, 2021

The Loudon County Redistricting Committee held the organizational meeting on August 11, 2021, at 4:30 P.M. at the Loudon County Annex meeting room. The meeting was called the meeting to order.

The roll was called to establish what members of the committee was present: Mayor Buddy Bradshaw, Commissioner David Meers, Kelly Littleton-Brewster, Julia Hurley, Bill Satterfield, Gary Whitfield, Van Shaver, Harold Duff, Adam Waller, Henry Cullen. Other members in attendance was Property Assessor Mike Campbell, Jim Brewster Mapping and GIS Supervisor, 911 GIS Manager Ryan Janikula, Codes Enforcement Director Jim Jenkins, Planning Director Greg Montooth and Administrator of Elections Susan Harrison. Members absent was Commissioner Matthew Tinker.

Motion was made by Commissioner Waller, seconded by Commissioner Meers to elect Henry Cullen as Chairman, David Meers as Vice-Chairman and Susan Harrison as Secretary of the Redistricting Committee. All in attendance voted in favor of the motion.

Mr. Ned Phillips with the Comptroller's office was present for information and questions from the committee. Informed the group that there would be a training in Knoxville on August 25 that Ryan Janikula and Jim Brewster could attend on the GIS software.

The unofficial population of Loudon County is 54,662. Mr. Phillips stated that the new maps and official county population and district numbers should be ready within a few weeks.

Discussion was had about having 1 commissioner per district which would result in splitting up several districts. It was recommended that this not be decided today due to Commissioner Tinker not being in attendance.

Discussion was held about district preliminary numbers. Motion was made by Adam Waller, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Van Shaver to keep 7 districts with 10 commissioners. After much discussion the motion was withdrawn from consideration.

Motion was made by Van Shaver to keep 7 districts and 2<sup>nd</sup> by Bill Satterfield. Kelly Brewster, David Meers, Bill Satterfield, Gary Whitfield, Harold Duff, Van Shaver and Henry Cullen voted YES in favor of the motion. Julia Hurley and Buddy Bradshaw voted NO.

Public Comments was made by Rich Anklin to restore Tellico Village to all in the 7<sup>th</sup> District. Rick Dramm questioned the census numbers/accuracy base on his personal experience with a census worker.

Motion was made by Van Shaver, seconded by Julia Hurley to hold the next meeting on September 22, 2021, at 4:30 p.m... It was suggested to invite the Lenoir City Planner and the Loudon City planners. Motion carried.

Motion made by Bill Satterfield to adjourn, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Van Shaver. Motion carried.