Loudon County Redistricting Committee Meeting Minutes

September 30, 2021

The Loudon County Redistricting Committee held the third redistrict meeting on September 30, 2021, at 4:30 P.M. at the Loudon County Annex meeting room. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Henry Cullen.

The roll was called to establish what members of the committee was present. The following members was present: Mayor Buddy Bradshaw, Commissioner David Meers, Kelly Littleton-Brewster, Julia Hurley, Matthew Tinker, Bill Satterfield, Gary Whitfield, Harold Duff, Van Shaver, Adam Waller, Henry Cullen. Other members in attendance were Property Assessor Mike Campbell, Jim Brewster Mapping and GIS Supervisor and Administrator of Elections Susan Harrison. Members absent was 911 GIS Supervisor Ryan Janikula and Planning Director Greg Montooth.

Motion was made by Mayor Bradshaw and second by Commissioner Duff to accept the minutes of the September 22, 2021, meeting. One correction needs to be made by adding Commissioner Adam Waller to the "yes" vote to keep 10 County Commissioners. All voting members in attendance voted to accept the minutes.

Public comments were made by Susan Gingrich regarding the redistricting in Tellico Village and Pat Hunter regarding the plans involving the 2nd and 5th district. After some discussion Rick Dram and Ed Heilman asked if they could also make a few comments in reference to Ms. Gingrich comments and was allowed to do so by Chairman Cullen.

Plans "C" and "D" was part of the packets provided to members and the public.

Motion was made by Commissioner Satterfield to adopt plan "C" of the redistricting plan, second by Commissioner Meers. A roll call vote was taken with the following results: Voting yes was Commissioners Brewster, Meers, Satterfield, Whitfield, Duff, Shaver, Waller, and Cullen. Members voting no was Mayor Bradshaw, Commissioners Tinker and Hurley. The motion carried with an 8 yes, 3 no vote.

The approved plan will go before the County Commission at the scheduled November meeting.

Motion was made Commissioner Shaver to adjourn, second by Commissioner Brewster. The meeting was adjourned.